BC Boards

How often should I work?

Guest SheTriesHard

Guest SheTriesHard

I've been lurking, and I finally decided to post because your introduction made you sound like a kindred spirit. I'm pretty new at this, and I suspect I'm older than you were when you started, but still I was encouraged to read about you. Just to give you an idea about me, the name I registered under is what the clinician I usually go to said when somebody asked him about me. :rolleyes:

I don't have my own sheep, and I don't have a personal trainer. I do go to clinics whenever I can. I'm lucky to have a nice person with a flock of sheep living near me, and she has told me that I can come to her place and work with her sheep whenever I want. (She only has the sheep to train her dog with--it's really a cattle farm.) But she says she doesn't know enough to give me any help because she hasn't been doing it that long herself.

I don't mind working on my own, in fact I really like it better because I don't get so flustered when nobody is watching. But I don't seem to be making a lot of progress. Sometimes I think we're getting better, but sometimes I think we're not getting anywhere at all, and I can't tell what makes the difference. Anyway, the person who hosts the clinics that I go to (not the clinician) has been telling me that I shouldn't be working on my own at all, because I don't know enough and I'll just be creating bad habits and confusing my dog. She thinks I should only go to clinics, but that would mean we'd only get to word a few times a year. And I'm really and truly fascinated with this and I want to keep trying.

So my question is, Am I really doing more harm that good if I work on my own? I have a video and several books to go by, plus what I see the trainer do at the clinics. I just can't believe I could make any progress if I only work at clinics.

I know this may be an impossible question for you to answer, but it's an even more impossible question for me to answer. :D