BC Boards

first time at the handler's post

JBP

I posted at the first of June when Jill (2yrs) and I started training.

We went to the post for our first time this weekend. How exciting!!

I sent Jill on her outrun, she got 1/2 way there and saw the bright white fetch panel that would be used later for PN and OR. She kinda balked and then CROSSED OVER and then started RINGING the sheep! ARRRRGGHHHH!! The sheep were kinda flighty and then ended up being split and two ran for the hills. Needless to say I went to get my dog, and walked off the field, highly disappointed.

I then found out there was a second day to the trial!!

We went to the post Sunday morning. I sent her on her outrun, she saw that fetch panel, kicked out and completed an AWESOME outrun. From there it just continued to go well, and we won our novice class.

I AM SO PROUD of my dog!!

So yes, the bug has bit me harder

Hope to see y'all at future trials.

Jennifer

P.S. EVERYONE we met this weekend was so helpful, friendly and willing to give advice. The BC network should be proud of their community.

Congrats! That's really awesome. My first run at my first trial, my dog (trained by me here on the farm) did a beeeyootiful outrun, then slammed into the back of the sheep when he realized how light they were (I raise quite heavy commercial wools and these were barb crosses), grabbed one and rode it almost all the way to the post. I was so ashamed, I collected him and didn't show my face on a trial field for months.

The next time, Ben did a very nice job and we completed the course, but Tom Lacy, who was judging, met me on the way out and kindly explained that when you miss a panel you don't have to "unwind" it like they'd been doing at the post. He was awfully nice about it.

If I wasn't so doggoned envious of your lovely run on Sunday, I'd say "congratulations". Well, congrats anyway! That was wonderful that you came back the second day and gave it another try and did so well. Best wishes!