BC Boards

How old is too old?

Is your oldster still working?

Ben's never been a working powerhouse so he's always been used fairly lightly. Every time he gets ill, I say, that's it, he's done, I won't ask him to work anymore.

And then he goes back to work again. Oddly, usually slightly better.

I've recently learned (thank you Robin!) how to fix his slashing in on his outrun at the top, and now he can gather sheep without feeling the need to rush in at the top. His enthusiasm for the whole thing rocketed!

He's twelve. Am I pushing things here? Typical tasks include, gathering sheep in a small (3 acre) field and setting them out to graze, catching and holding for various tasks, and the Big Gather, which involves hunting sheep in the back part of the property (up a hill out of sight, down in hollows, in woods, and across a pond). Ben only does stuff like this a quarter of the day.

I'm actually kind of new to the whole, raising dogs to old age, thing. I "borrowed" a dog once who came to me at the age of 12, and died a bit short of fifteen, but he had terrible arthritis and was very limited his last couple of years. At twelve he was pretty rickety already. Ben had very slight stiffness problems last year but these have gone away since I switched him to 100% raw.

Should I slow Ben down now before he has problems? this is a weird thing to think of since I've always been sure Ben would be a mess by this age, with all his problems. Instead, he only seems to be improving. :rolleyes:

I am not complaining by the way - I am amazed and glad this dog is alive still and have frequently informed him he's not allowed to die before me. :D