BC Boards

Sheep/Goats

ClickMeBC

I'm new to herding but would love to get into it and so, of course, have questions. We'll be bringing home 4-5 sheep this spring, and 2 goats. First of all, is it possible to work a dog on such a small number of sheep? We will look into working with a trainer, of course, but I thought it was a legitimate question as far as being able to work at home goes.

Secondly, is it possible to herd with goats? I imagine they may be less cooperative but I've heard of working a dog on both ducks and cattle. And if working with goats is possible, how about mixing the two? Will sheep and goats be herded together, or is this not a good idea?

Please wait for more expert advice, but I've had goats.

They do not take kindly to being herded and are quite vociferous about expressing that opinion, usually by backing up and then head butting whatever's aggravating them with enough force that they feel like a Mack truck. Also, they are dedicated climbers of fence. By the time I was done my "goat and pony" paddock looked like Fort Knox. I considered putting in search lights.

I would not ask my dog to manage goats.

But, I am not a dog OR a goat expert. Just an aggravated family farmer.

Goats are great. In tacos.

:rolleyes:

In my very limited experience working goats with dogs, I've found younger Boer goats to work very nicely but older, dairy-cross goats to be very dog-wise and very clever at resisting the dogs, either through aggression (especially with younger, hesitant, less powerful, and less grippy dogs) or through cussed cleverness (like ring-around-the-pen or using the fence to help avoid the dog working well).

I think most folks would advise using appropriate sheep breeds for dog training. Best wishes!