BC Boards

Can Dogs have allergies?

My poor girl has these short 'attacks,' where she sort of dry heaves, but it's more like she has something stuck in her throat. (I'm sorry I'm not very good at explaining these things.) Anyway, I also noticed that when I take her out in the morning she's fine, but after being outside for a few minutes she sneezes continuously, and her eyes get red, and then she'll start the "dry heaving" routine again. It doesn't seem like she's experiencing too much discomfort. While it's happening she looks very unhappy, but as soon as it passes she'smy back to wagging her tail and ready to chase the tennis ball again. So, after that long-winded explanation, my question is: Is it possible that she has allergies to pollen? Anybody else have experience with this? Will it pass once Spring is over? She's due for another vet visit in a few weeks, I'll definitely bring it up - should I consult my vet before then? Thanks in advance.

It's definitely possible for dogs to have allergies. Tiga has allergies but with him it's more itching then anything. I would talk to the vet about it for sure. They can have environmental allergies, food allergies along with other things. I'd be concerned about the dry heaving routine. How old is she? How long has it been happening?

She is about 2 years old. I have only had her for a couple of months, but it's only started in the last week or so, just as it's got hot, and the pollen has become really bad - which is why I think it may be allergies to pollen. "Dry heaving" is not a great way to explain it, I just can't think of any other way to explain it. It is as if she has eaten too fast as is trying to clear her throat. It really does only happen outside, or soon after she comes in from the yard. Thanks for your help, I'm definitely going to keep a close eye on her, and bring it up with the Doc at her next visit.