BC Boards

AKC

ragtimedog

I'm new to the thread so forgive me if I repeat covered ground. Does the AKC still register BC's with ILP's? What is the ABCA's position on ILP's since they are essentially a non-breeding, limited registration for performance competition only?

I have to say, I read the article with great interest. I got into BC's partly BECAUSE they were NOT AKC registered and were not subject to the breed ring. I think we have to remember, that a good working Border Collie is also capable of doing a good job in obedience and agility and that is not where the danger lies. (I have feelings about the breed ring that I will not vent at this time....) Not only will banning those folks who enjoy those activities force them to take sides, but might drive people away who might otherwise register with the ABCA.

And, as far as requiring working ability for "A" registration, what is the policy now as far as a dog's working ability? Aren't there dogs registered with no ability at all?

On the other hand, I do know that some horse breed registries require a video and/or personal appraisal of a gaited horse to verify that the horse is of one of the gaited breeds. Guess you can tell I have more questions than answers. I do appreciate that the ABCA is considering its actions carefully and listening to the BC owners on this issue.

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I hesitate to answer, since I can only answer half your questions definitively:

Yes, AKC will give ILP listing to border collies, with no "paper trail" of registrations, breeding, etc. This does not mean that AKC will register border collies ONLY as ILPs.

All one needs to get the ILP number is two photos, some money of course, and an application which describes why you think the dog is the breed you're trying to register it as. I supposed this could include ABCA registration, or behavior, or whatever you know about breeding, or whatever.