BC Boards

Allergies????

Max2005

I have a 4 four month of BC (Max) who is starting to loose hair around his eyes. It doesn't appear that they are irritated. But, he does, on occasion, bite on his paws (back mostly). The first thing we did was to change his shampoo. Short of having a vet perform numerous test to determine the cause, has anyone experienced this? And if so, what can I do?

I am new at this, so, if this question has been asked before, please point me in the right direction to get some info.

Thanks!

With a pup that young my first thought would be demodex (demodectic mange). To diagnose for sure would require a skin scraping at the vets. Around the eyes is a common place to lose hair from demodex. It is; however, not itchy. Sarcoptic mange is the itchy one and is zoonotic (you can catch it). The skin scraping can catch this too.

It is not necessarily a reflection on care so don't worry. All dogs have the demodex mite in their hair follicles. When a pup, especially, is under stress from weaning, new home, etc then it's immune system is lowered. This immunity is what keeps the mites in check in immunocompetent and non-stressed dogs. The mites are then free to run around and multiply causing hair loss.

Sarcoptic mange can be killed by 2 applications of Revolution 2 weeks apart. Demodex has, in the past, been treated with mitaban dips. The dip has been removed from the market by the manufacturer though so I would be wary of using it. The other treatment for demodex is ivermectin, by mouth, every day for around 4 weeks. This option is much less smelly and is easier. Mitaban is bad for humans so you have to wear gloves, eye protection, apron, etc to keep it off you! You also have to do a series of dips (4 I think) a couple of weeks apart, plus it is expensive. I would much rather give a small amount of liquid meds once a day!