BC Boards

Wants to walk then can’t

We have had Willow 2yr in Oct from pup. She is lovely and loves people and animals (well has started chasing cats). We both work and have 2 children (10 and 13) and my mum walks her in the day. She was golden bar a few chewed up things, she has a room and garden access when we are out. We got her spayed in January and then I broke my wrist, then it was Covid and as a teacher I was mainly home, my husband continued to work and I carried on walking her but avoided people (as hundreds of people started walking and buying dogs). We did basic, intermediate and almost finished advanced dog training which included agility (wrist stopped me and daughter taking her). Anyway she has become more skittish, she has started out excited to go on walk got 5 mins away then refused to go any further no matter where. About a month ago we walked into the field that we always go in and someone fired a gun into air right next to her. She scooted off back to the stile scared, she would even go over in pitch dark last winter with me but now it’s hit and miss she will even walk in the light. Tonight she was fine excited to go out, she heard a motorbike and stopped that was it 20m from house and refused to move. Anyone any ideas? Some days she is fine, this morning she was great. I just don’t know what to do.

Hi Annacolour,

Your dog has been traumatized by the unfortunate things that have happened to her. She may have started getting skittish because you were (out of necessity) avoiding people and she picked up on your concerns about getting close to anyone. that is not something that, at the moment, you can easily change. But if there are people you cn be around, make sure she is having excellent experiences with all of them, at least.