BC Boards

Ewes and fescue?

dot me not

Just did a post last night on hay and had one of those lightbulb moments! Oh crap, I forgot about my ewes! They've been eating fescue hay and seem to be doing fine. Do sheep have a sensitivity to the endophyte in fescue like horses and to some degree, cattle have? I don't remember finding anything about it. These girls are due next month and a couple of them are just beginning to bag up a little. Should I pull them off the fescue?

I pulled them in last evening and dewormed them with the higher dose of fenbendazole 10% (5cc/100lbs) and boosted their CD&T vax. Should I do anything else?

Thanks a bunch,

Lydia

Hi Lydia,

First off, please let me insert my obligatory "beware information, especially health information, offered over the internet from faceless strangers you do not know" disclaimer:

I'm not a vet. I am a shepherd with a small flock. I was a vet tech at one point in my life - and leagally and morally that does not qualify me to diagnose anything. I do live with a vet and so have had this very discussion in relation to horses and sheep. What I provide below is from three textbooks we have at home (author and publishers are cited so you can double check my lay interpretation).

Here's what the books say:

1. Sheep & Goat Medicine, 1st Ed., D.G. Pugh, Saunders Press, copyright 2002.

Dr. Pugh, in his discussion of fescue toxicity (tall fescue contaminated w/ an endophyte), states: "During winter months the toxins may cause a perpheral vasoconstriction leading to a gangrenous necrosis of th distal limbs and tail...sheep and goats appear to be less sensitive to the toxin then cows."

2. Current Therapy in Large Animal Theriogenology, Robert S. Youngquist, Saunders Press, copyright 1997.