BC Boards

6 months going on 24. Too soon, but now what?

Howdy! I'm new to the BC world, and therefore, this sight as well. I bought "Hank" 4 months ago, at 8 weeks old. He was the last of his litter and I got a deal. I'd just started managing a very quiet herd, and the black mouths didn't have the control for these girls. Just wasn't a good fit, so I shopped border collies. From the time I got him home I knew I had a good one. It took him about three days to come out of his shell, but he's been the easiest, most challenging dog I've ever trained.

So, earlier this month, my boss went to Wickenburg to rope for two months, and took his two collies with him. We've been short handed and I took on the task of moving yearlings on and off the rye grass for three hours a day. Me and my stick got 'em off okay for about the first three days, but as the grass got stronger, it became too much for one man. Well, Hank was standing at his normal post, just outside the pasture fence, watching with sharp eyes. When the yearlings broke on me for about the third time, Hank let out the first bark I'd heard him make. He was one week shy of six months. He was staring at me real hard, and in a moment of weakness I said, what the hell, and said "Ok. Walk up.". I've never been more amazed in all my 40 years. I have a video from that day, and it's the only way to know. Amazing. All Natural. Unadulterated. Shear. TALENT and STYLE. In the last three weeks, he's moved cattle everyday. By himself, no other dogs, and his control is phenomenal.