BC Boards

Winter Swim

My bc, Ted, loves to herd the waves of Lake Michigan at our home in northern Michigan.  

Currently, there is no ice blocking his access to the water, but there is snow on the ground.  I have not let Ted go in the water since the weather got a lot colder.  Should I allow him to chase the waves as long as there isn't ice?  He doesn't get soaked, but he will get hit in the chest area with waves.  I don't want to take anything from him as he loves herding the waves, but I don't want him sick or harmed by allowing him to do it.  Looking for input.  The picture waa taken this summer so you can see how much he loves it.  Thanks!

IMG_20180831_124308056_TOP.jpg

I am by no means an expert on dogs and hypothermia, but I think that water that close to freezing is too cold for a BC. Hopefully others will chime in, it just doesn't seem safe to me.

BTW, my first BC was part trout, part border collie. Samantha LOVED any kind of water at all, except the bath tub kind. Miss her still.

Ruth & Gibbs

Thanks, as I haven't been taking him in as I am not sure.  He just loves it so much that I didn't want to take it away if others said they have their dog in that cold water with no issues.  

Like your Samantha, Ted loves any kind of water unless it is a bath.  I have been taking Ted for long walks and hit the tennis ball in lieu of the beach until spring.  Just thought I'd get some input as to what others think. 

I would definitely take great care with a border collie and that kind of cold water. They are not built for it as, say, a Newfoundland is. They don't have the protective fat and heavy coat. Especially as the dog gets older, I would keep him away from water that is that cold. JMO

1 hour ago, Brins123 said:

Like your Samantha, Ted loves any kind of water unless it is a bath.  I have been taking Ted for long walks and hit the tennis ball in lieu of the beach until spring.  Just thought I'd get some input as to what others think.