BC Boards

My 15 week old male border collie barks agresively at visitors and strangers

Hi, this is my first time as a dog owner.   Initially I wanted to get an older dog in a few years when the children left home (they are young teenagers) but a friend of mine's border collie had puppies unexpectedly and I agreed to take one thinking the children would enjoy his younger years and then he'd be my companion and walking buddy later.

A week before we were to bring him home I broke my ankle and we couldn't put off taking him because his owner was quite old and needed homes as soon as possible.   This meant that I couldn't be the one to initially train him or be the leader etc.   That role went to my husband for the next few months.  As he works away from home during the week I had to rely on the children walking him etc.  This hasn't been too bad but from the start he has barked at any visitors we have, during the summer we've had friends stay and at first he'd bark on and off for about half an hour then he'd be fine and happy to be around them, this happens with visitors too.

We have a fenced off area where he is secure and safe and cannot wander the whole garden but he will constantly bark aggressively at visitors, we try reassuring him and stroking but he is fixated .  Today he was in the other part of the garden with me when the post lady tried to come in, he was uncontrollable and I think he may have bitten her if she came through the gate.    I'm still on crutches and not able to run after him etc.    I am training him with a clicker, to fetch and recall etc and this is going well but nothing is working with the barking.  I need to find a way to control this as I work from home normally and don't want him to scare off my clients.