BC Boards

Biting

Hi all,

i have an 11 month old male bc.

in the last 4-6 weeks he has started biting and reasonably hard, enough to break the skin and cause pain.

He does this generally as per the following;

- when you try to take food or the likes off him (understandably) not that I regularly do that but if he takes food he shouldn’t.

- cleaning a window he will jump at you and bite.

- clapping your hands he will jump at you and bite.

- Cutting hedges or plants outside or emptying the lawnmower catcher he will jump and bite to get what you have or get to what you are doing.

Any help on this would really be appreciated as I cannot have this occuring.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Eek! I hope that sounds worse than it is!

I am no expert and can not offer any advice on your dogs behaviour, however it might be helpful for the people who may be able to offer help if you explain in more detail:

5 hours ago, DavidT said:

started biting and reasonably hard, enough to break the skin and cause pain.

Often when dogs start biting to hurt, people consider them dangerous and start asking whether the dog should be euthanized. However, if I started flapping my hands around (I've not tried clapping near my puppy) my puppy would probably try to grab them, and in doing so might inadvertently catch my hands with his teeth hard enough to hurt. Obviously neither is acceptable but there is a difference.

You don't say whether your dog has been neutered, if this behaviour has got worse since you got a new puppy, if he's routine has changed much recently or how you've been dealing with it for the last 4-6 weeks. Maybe if you talk about what you've already tried people can offer new ideas.

Most of those things you can hopefully keep him away from until he's been desensitised to them and learnt some manners. The training never ends.