BC Boards

General training advice -- please

I have a 5 month old now and I've had success with Lilly, she sits and goes down on command, and I can walk without too much trouble on a leash. She responds quite easily to verbal tone. This is good because I am a training novice :rolleyes:

My goal is this, at some point I would like Lilly to be able to go without lead with my family as we walk our land (15 acres). We have a 1/3 acre area that is fenced in for the dogs.

What is the way to get there, and how long might it take. I would like to expand on her smarts as well, as a general farm protector, chicken herder would be nice, but family playmate and companion is the emphasis.

How old before she should be trusted? and How do I get there. I have tried to enroll in obedience classes, but the one that keeps getting recommended here doesn't have enough for a class yet, so I'm working on my own.

Thanks

--Denise

Hi Denise,

If you do a search in this forum, there are lots of discussions on how to establish a good recall.

I generally use a long line and good treats. Let her out to the end of the long line, call her in a REALLY happy voice, treat and let her go again.

I will often call my dogs just to give them a 'hello' and not to put a leash back on, etc.

Puppyhood is so much fun :rolleyes:

Well, there's no magic age of trust. Many would say after the teenage years (2), but I trusted my BC 100% around age 7 months... so far so good.

I have 5 unfenced acres. I used invisible fence to train the perimeter. My dogs do not wear the collars after preliminary training.

Here's how I would get there.

1. You must have 100% recall, esp if your dog spies something to chase after.

2. Use a very light long lead that you could step on should the pup go too far away. Something like this: http://cleanrun.com/moreinfo.cfm?Product_I...FTOKEN=63254527