BC Boards

obedience classes

I have been thinking of taking Holly to an obedience class but im not sure wether we should or not as she can be quite nervous and the one which i would take her too has quite alot of dogs and people at it and i think it might be too much for her.

What do you think? Should i take her along anyway and see how she copes or maybe wait a while and see if she gains more confidence first?

I'd go for a socialization session first, talk to the trainers. My school had an evaluation session, yours may too.

One of the puppies in our puppy obedience class just sat in a little ball for the entire first class. Next class it wasn't there so we inquired.

The owners and trainer decided that it was best to do one one one sessions with the trainer for a while. My guess is that it was the owners who made the call, not the trainer. But that is just as important.

As a trainer I agree with Meg's mum.. I always suggest for a shy or insecure dog, for the people to just come in a sit with their dog. I will do what I can to help ease the dog into socializing with people first.. then start with quiet personality & friendly, dogs etc. If the class is too big I just have them sit a distance away from the class where the dog seems "ok". We move in closer gradually over a period of time (to be determined by me),and I off and on walk in the vicinity of dog and handler several times during the class and toss treats to her/him, getting a little closer as dog seems comfy with me. I have recently had 2 very shy dogs that started out hiding under their persons chair for 4 weeks, then gradually edged out to grab the treat I tossed and run back under the chair. By the end of our 8 wk. class, this one little dog was coming out and taking the treat from my hand as I sat on the floor with my side to the dog. The other dog, did the same and eventually went on to Advanced training with me and all his new made doggy friends! It takes ALOT of patience and time but if you do it