BC Boards

New With Potential BC mix

Hello everyone! I am new to borders, although I have been researching them for months. I recently came across a young female BC Heeler mix and if everything goes to plan, I'll be picking her up March 1st. I don't know too much about her except; she lives outside on a farm, she's shy with men, she's protective and active. I have owned two purebred Aussie Shepherds before as well as a Aussie Heeler mix, so I am familiar with herding breeds. However, I am getting nervous that I may not be able to keep her entertained and mentally/physically active enough. I've read a lot of how ocd/neurotic BCs can be and how constantly energized they are. Maybe I was lucky with my previous dogs but they were fairly calm, they could go non stop if I was, but they'd also lay next to me all day if I were sick or a storm prevented us from getting them out to run off steam.

I'm not sure if she's house trained as she lives outside, I've never had to house train an adult dog, is it the same as a puppy?

Is kennel training an adult the same process as for a puppy?

Will a 30-60min walk with a few hours of training be enough for the average BC?

Are BC generally Velcro dogs? I love having my dog at my side all day, it's my favorite thing of herding breeds!

I know it will be hard to answer my questions since I don't know her but hopefully some general ideas will be helpful. Thank you.

I think there's a lot of excessive hype about the energy requirements of BC. IMO most are good to go for hours *if you want*, but will turn off and chill out nicely if that's what they need to do. UNLESS they have been taught to be pests, by 'giving into' or rewarding nagging type behavior.