BC Boards

WTH? Lumbosacral Spondylosis

My 5 yr old Border Collie Loki went to work with me at my weekend ER job (I'm a registered vet tech) because he was vomiting blood. Luckily it was simple gastritis. However the radiographs showed an advanced stage of lumbosacral spondylosis. The vet was suprised that Loki didn't have any neurological signs and was able to walk. I was cautioned not to let him jump etc. Obviously, there is no way my active 5 yr old is going to be careful. . he is called the "red rocket" and "wild child" for a reason. I was told his condition is most likely genetic due to his young age and it's advanced stage. Ugh. .

Loki is still busy being a normal dog and we're waiting to find out what we can do to support his spinal cord (supplements, physical therapy). I'm not considering surgery at this time as he is still asymptomatic although it may lie in the future. Has anyone else had this happen to their young dog and how quickly did it progress? I do not plan to stop Loki's favorite activities as he lives to work stock and hike in the timber. Yes, I'll cut back on things according to the vets recommendation but I think Loki would rather do his favorite things than live a little bit longer.

Bethany, Rose, and Loki-mon

Nothing to add either, other than to wish you and Loki all the luck in the world. The fact he's asymptomatic sounds good - maybe his fitness level works in his favor. Acupuncture may also be an option. It helped my Nick when he injured his back and also my old dog when his spine was degenerating. Do keep us posted.

~ Gloria

May sound strange but I would try not worry too much in your place. The findings were coincidental, Loki is symptom free.

This is a known fenomenon in human medicin, actually there is a suprisingly low correlation between presentation of arthrotic changes on radiographs, MRI etc, and pain/functional changes.