BC Boards

OT...Private Obedience Training

This is sorta off topic, but I hope it will be allowed.

I am a certified Pet Trainer and currently train at our local pet store. I always have people asking me if I do private training. Some dogs just don't do well in a group setting. I know of instructors who go to peoples homes, but don't know anyone personally, and hesitate to ask them as I would be possibly infringing on them. The area I live in has no local training instructors,it's over 25 miles to where I work and alot of people travel long distances for training due to no choice, so a local trainer would/should do well.

If anyone on the BC boards is a private trainer and can give me some advice on pricing, how to charge for mileage over a certain distance etc., or how to get started in general, I would appreciate your advice.

I am hoping to also offer breed specific training, with BC's, Aussies, Jack Russels etc. I currently have 3 BC's 1 yr old, 6 mos. and 13 wks... tooooooo cute as well as 2 Aussies and a JR (all with endless energy & ability). The word is out that I have BC's and experience training them personally and people are asking for my classes.

Anyway, I am convinced the need is out there, I just don't know how to get started.

Thanks for any help.

Joe Anne -

If you are going to do this as a business you need to make sure you are on the up and up with taxes. Paying estimated tax, etc. You can also follow the IRS mileage allowances and pass those costs on to your clients. This way, they can't question it.

I pay $40 for an hour session in agility. I go to her place (which is 2 blocks down the road) because she has all the equipment in the back yard. I work 2 dogs in that hour and find that I only need that once every few weeks.