BC Boards

what do I do?

Magic is 11 weeks old now. I have taught her to sit and to speak, but she speaks as she sits and if I am trying to teach her anything else, she just speaks. Its the greatest trick to her.How do I get her to know its one at a time. I think I made such a big deal about her speak trick that she only wants that one.She also barks at me when I am telling her to do something, I know she's kind of talking back to me like a bratty child would at times. This is my first BC. :confused:

Do you reward her when she speaks when you don't ask her to? You shouldn't give any positive reinforcement for a behavior you aren't asking for at the moment (don't yell at her, just ignore it). Often if I ask for a behavior that Dublin doesn't particularily like, he might offer another one instead, in the hope that I will "cave". He usually does this when I ask him to down when a cat is within his perceived comfort zone...he will sit, but not down then.

I am not an expert trainer by any means, so hopefully some more experienced people will chime in as well.

Now that she knows "speak", you can teach her "quiet" or "whisper". Reward when she "doesn't speak", and call it "quiet". Or train for a "whisper" - when she does a "polite little bark" or "air barks", reward it and name it. Try adding some other behaviors that don't involve vocalizing, like "high five", "lie down", "roll over", etc.

You are right - you probably rewarded so much for the speak, that she "defaults" to that now. So just start rewarding for other stuff, ignore the speak for a while, and pretty soon you'll have a puppy offering you all kinds of behaviors.

Sammi learned Whisper, and it's much the most favorite trick she's got. She'll go on cue from Speak to Whisper and back a few times, everybody thinks it's just the greatest thing in the world.