BC Boards

Stubborn, Vocal, argumentative I hate My Crate Puppy!

Housebreaking is going to be the death of me. Brody is sweet, and quick to learn everything except acceptable peeing and pooping places. So we are TRYING to crate train him. Which has led to a very unhappy and LOUD puppy. I have led him in with treats for days prior. Tried to teach him good things happen in the crate. I Have praised him when quiet, Put toys in with him. Nothing works. He continues to wail. Which leaves me stuck. Do I get him out and take him outside leashed while he's screaming at me and if he pees give him some free time? Or do I wait until he's quiet to take him out to try potty again? I should add I'm a full time college student (online) so crate training is the best choice since I can't have eyes on him every minute.

I just feel like a complete failure at this. I know he's still a baby and potty training doesn't happen fast. But We need some progress to start growing on.

What Maralynn said.

It may sound harsh but once you go back to a screaming pup you've let it know that screaming works. What you do now is setting the pattern for the rest of your life together.

As long as he is not in any danger of hurting himself and has something nice to keep him occupied he should shut up pretty soon. You just have to ride it out.

Traditional advice is to take time to introduce the pup to the crate as you have been doing - leave the door open, feed it in there etc but sometimes self preservation dictates that we have to consider our own well being and if it isn't working fast enough for your sanity shutting the door and walking away (ear plugs optional) maybe what is needed.

Fussing about around the crate can give the pup the idea that it is where it gets attention rather than the opposite.

I have had my pup for 11 days and feel your pain. The first night I could have happily sent him back but he quickly settled and only has a token complaint when crated when he doesn't want to be.