BC Boards

When should you lie to your Border Collie?

Dear Doggers,

On another topic Ms. Camden's Mom wrote (in part) "What worked really well for me was when my puppy nipped or used his teeth on my skin I'd let out a loud, high pitched "OUCH!" You need to put on an academy award winning performance... dramatic is good, even if the nip didn't hurt you one bit. When you do this you are communicating in the exact same way puppies communicate with each other. When one puppy gets too rough the others will let him know with a high pitched squeal and normally all activity will stop as everyone regroups and accesses the situation."

The remedy is familiar and though I prefer a direct correction I imagine this usually works. It turned my mind to a question I've been puzzling since I studied different dog training schools (Koehler, ecollar, behaviorist, pharma-behaviorist, drive theory) for Mr. & Mrs. Dog.

When should a trainer lie to his/her dog and what are the consequences? That there can be consequences for lies is certain. When shock collars first appeared among sheepdoggers, at least dozens and perhaps hundreds of useful sheepdogs were swiftly converted to goosedogs and family pets. The shock collar (the ecollar is used somewhat differently) was a Remote Lie. It told the dog that if it did this or that wicked thing, the world/nature/God/the-ways-things-are would give it a painful shock. Unfortunately, since the dog didn’t always know just what “wicked thing” it was doing, the dog could interpret the shock in ways the trainer didn’t intend. To trainer, shock might mean “Dog too tight on it’s outrun” while to the dog it might mean “Avoid sagebrush.”

When these mistrained creatures ran they’d come to some part of the course and suddenly begin acting as no sane sheepdog does.