BC Boards

Agility with team or on your own?

INU

I built some agility equipment with PVC and I started teaching Jazzy at home. (I have never taken agility courses, only learn from books and seen at tournaments etc)

I went to this agility school which is like 70 minutes drive on tonight. There are no schools in my area. I observed three classes from beginners to competition level. It didn't look like the instructor was doing much. It seems self-explanatory to me. I am not planning on doing this to compete (well unless she happens to be REALLY good at it), I just want to do this for fun and also hoping that Jazzy would gain more confidence. It will also be helpful in disaster Search & Rescue training.

Do I really need to take classes or can I just do my own thing at home? Again I have no experience, and very little ideas what the rules are. 70 minutes drive is a little much as I have to drive hours on SAR training already. oh! and my backyard is not very big.

I have been taking an agility course that is offered through the internet:

http://www.cyberagility.com/

The course focuses on building teamwork skills, rather than just playing around with obstacles. Agility aside, it is a terrific way to improve your skills as a clicker trainer, since the training plans provided are very detailed and the instructor is very knowledgable about both theory and practice of positive reinforcement training.

I can't say enough good things about this class. Even if I lived in a place that offered agility classes, it would be unlikely to find one that compared favorably with it. Check out the website and see what you think.