BC Boards

Question: Agility weave poles

INU

There are generally 6 or 12 weave poles in competition. Some people train starting with 6, some people start with 12 but the ultimate goal is 12 so if you're building I'd go for 12 to begin with so you don't have to go back and make more! Rarely at a trial you'll see another number but I've only seen that once and I think there can never be more than 12 (I'm not sure though). As for distance between poles, most of the agility venues have different distances (which I think go from 18" to 21")and you can get the specifications from each organization's website. Sometimes inexperienced dogs will have a problem going from one distance between poles to another distance but with experience it's generally not an issue.

Good luck with your equipment building!!

Since I'm a beginner myself I'm not sure how accurate this is - I was told that once the dog knew how to do the poles it should be required to do at least 12 on a fairly regular basis since some dogs who continually practice on less will exit after completeing what they are normally asked to do instead of finishing a longer set.

If this is wrong I'm sure someone will correct me, but I thought I'd share what I'd been told.

Originally posted by INU:

How many weaves are usually there? Does anyone know how long the distance between each pole should be? Thanks!

I find the easiest and cheapest thing (provided you have a lawn that doesn't freeze up and enough space) is to buy 12 stick-in-the-ground electric fence poles. That way, you can vary the spacing and the # that you use. I slip a piece of PVC over the poles (you can add stripes with hockey tape). You also can make a 'channel' where the poles are off-set by a foot or so, which is the method that I used. Once the dog is running with enthusiasm through the channels (and finding her entrance from all kinds of weird angles, etc.) you can narrow the spacing gradually, until the dog is weaving a straight line of poles.