BC Boards

gripping during agility

I have the same problem (barking & some nipping) with our border collie Tenaya, and big-time with our Collie pup, Willow. Willow barks AND jumps at me AND nips!

Our agility trainer says to stop abruptly when it happens and put the dog into a "down" for a minute....basically, "when you do that, the fun stops".

So far, it needs more work.

The one thing that seems to help a little for me is to run slower with one hand out on the side the dog is on, with my index finger pointed--that's my "Here!" target, which they both know, and it seems to keep Willow, especially, on the ground. But it isn't fool-proof.

So I, too, would like any advice from experienced Agility folks! (I am a complete novice at this!).

Deanna in OR

I have a similar problem with Kirra - but in her case it's only partly excitement. Mostly it's frustration because I'm not giving her clear enough information soon enough. If I can get my handling right (big IF), then she stops nipping and runs confidently. Nothing like a nipping dog to sharpen up your handling.

When Megan was in her first agility class, we had the same problem.

Our instructor had me put her on a down immediately when she did this. Sometimes, we did a down between every single obstacle.

With some time and more agility training, the down command worked. She doesn't do that any more.

One person in our class has real problems with leg pain and is very slow right now. Her dog nips at her feet with frustration because she is used to working more quickly. When some one else runs the dog, there is no nipping. Maybe it is also a case of your dog being faster than you are.

Since Megan is so fast and I am so slow, I also would use a wait command between obstacles when I just couldn't keep up with her speed. It would be subtle, but would slow her down just enough for me to catch up and direct her to the next obstacle.

I am not into competition so whatever speed suits us both is just fine with me.