BC Boards

Calming herb?

OurBoys

Has anyone ever tried Sceletium (tortuosum) drops from the herb Kanna on their dog, horse or themselves before? Or know someone who has? I’m assuming the drops are legal here in the US? A lot has been going on here at the house; thunderstorms, moving things around (painting) and it’s been very stressful on Jake. He’s due for his annual checkup next month and I’m going to discuss meds for him with the vet but if I can find something more natural to give him that works I would feel better.

Sorry. I have no experince or knowledge of Sceletium.

I use 3 mg. melatonin during thunderstorms. I'm not sure about using it continuouisly for longer periods.

Some friends use this for their very anxious JRT mix and love it.

https://www.swansonvitamins.com/pet-naturals-calming-medium-large-dogs-21-chews

This company's shipping is very fast, and I've also seen this product at a local pet store.

Good luck!

roxanne

I use L-Theanine I get from the local health food store. Get the stuff for humans as the dog treats are expensive per dose and don't contain all that much Theanine. It seemed to help with the firework fear. I know someone else who uses Melatonine with their dog and it helps calm them down.

I googled sceletium and from what I read on WebMD, it does not sound like something I would want to give my dog. The side effects sounded like they could just make the problem worse.

There is a ton of information about the dosage and stories of those who use L-Theanine with their dogs online, so I didn't feel there was much risk. They obviously now make dog treats with it in them.

Other options I use for thunderphobes: melatonin, 3 mg (already mentioned) and Valerian root capsules (the adult dose is 3 capsules; I give 1). Both of these natural products are supposed to promote sleep. I have found the Valerian root to be more effective than melatonin for my thunderphobes who don't need stronger (i.e., prescroption) meds.