BC Boards

Doggy Door

Okay, so I am back again . I just love the feedback and advice you all give. :)

Anyway, yesterday my husband bought a doggy door to fit our patio door for Lilli (5.5 months) but she does not want to use it. We have sat beside it with her holding treats on either side of the door showing her to either use her nose or her paws periodically since yesterday but she doesn't seem to want to go through.

How long did it take for your dog to feel comfortable with using the door?

Not want you want to hear but never... We installed on our back porch so our late GSDx could come and go at her leisure but she did not like having the door coming down on her head/back. I am a much better trainer today so would probably be able to overcome the problem with lots of time and patience.

I would definitely try going out, while she stays inside alone, and then calling her through to you. Then once she goes out, reverse it and leave her outside and both come in to call her indoors to you.

That has worked with all my dogs - and we don't even have a doggy door! We just have a friend we often visit who does. :)

If she's still reluctant, make it sound REALLY fun. Make sure BOTH you and your hubby are on the opposite side of the door from her, so the "value" of going through the doggy door is very high. Not just treats and coaxing, but make it as if you're about to leave without her and the only way to come along is through the doggie door.

Best of luck!

~ Gloria

took my dogs under a 1/2 hour and a bag of shaved ham. the cat learned just by watching the dogs, as I didn't mean for her to be an outside cat. best laid plans....