BC Boards

Are BC's that smart?

Hello Everyone,

This is my first time here and I love reading everyone's posts. It great to hear stories from others and pick up tips on how to bring out the best of these wonderful creatures.

Anyhow, my little girl "Lilly" is 5 months old and completely house trained, however just lately she has started to pee inside at random. My husband and I think it is because she wants to go outside because when she was house training, everytime she had an accident we would put her outside. She is an inside/outside dog but lately the weather has been miserable and she is inside with us a lot. (we don't have a doggy door yet). Could she really be that smart and think like that? B)

Welcome to the BC Forum !

Border Collies are indeed very smart and it would not surprise me at all if she made that association.

Recently between all the extra rain and having to work extra days till a replacement gets hired for a co-worker who had to quit because of moving out of the area, Xena has not had her usual amount of outdoor playtime, (and rain don't seem to phase her, she would play outside in the pouring rain if I didn't mind getting soaked along with her :)

Anyhow my wife told me that recently on days I was at work that Xena would act like she needed to go potty a lot more than usual but maybe actually pee or poop one time out of 5 trips outside, I told my wife Xena probally just misses getting outside as much and acts like she needs to go potty at times just to get outside (reguardless of the weather :)

Somehow you need to train your dog to let you know she needs to go out to potty (before she pees inside) , but don't be upset if it is just an excuse to get outside for a few minutes. I read some people trained their dogs to ring some "jingle bells" by the door (I saw such bells at Walmart in the pet section made just for that purpose)