BC Boards

breeder in Iowa area

I am new to the BC board. I am looking for a good breeder around the Iowa area for a BC puppy. Also any information on trainers in my area would be great. I have looked throughout the BC Boards on what to look for but I am having a hard time finding a good breeder.

Thanks

A good starting point is to come on down to the Iowa Sheep and Wool Festival on the 8th of June held at the Dallas County Fairgrounds in Adel, each year we have a little sheepdog trial there. You can watch the dogs and get a chance to chat with different trainers and breeders from here in IA. Entries are just now coming in so I can't tell you for certain who will be there, but some of the common names are Bob Johnson from Tingley, Curtis Dukes, from Kent, Nyle Sealine from Princeton, John Holman from Clay Center, Nebraska, Linda Meyer from Stanhope comes from time to time, Joel Hollatz from Exline may be there also.

If that weekend does not work or if you are in southeastern IA a good place to visit would the trials that Gary hosts down in Keosauqua, IA, they will be cattledog trials and will be held on June 22-23 and then he will host a single day trial on Sunday July 7th.

Bob Johnson down in Tingley, host a weekly practice at his place just outside of town which is about 1.5 hours south and west of Des Moines every Tuesday evening, many handlers and people new to stockdogs get together down at his place.

Who to buy from and what type of dog you buy is dependent on what your goals are with your dog. If you are looking for a good pet or companion I would suggest looking into rescue, some get pups in if you are willing to wait. If you want to trial on sheep or cattle or have livestock and want to use the dog then looking for a breeder who has produced good dogs that they themselves and others trial and/or use would be the path to go. Also working with someone who is exceling with their dogs in the same venue that you aspire to participate in is important.