BC Boards

Introducing a new Border Collie puppy to a 1 year old

Good morning,

I am new to BC Boards and this is my first post. We got our first female border collie (Willow) a little over a year ago and she has been an extraordinary pet. She is about 1 1/2 years old. She does not herd, but we are a very active family and we keep her exceptionally busy hiking, running, and playing. We are introducing her to our new male border collie puppy (8 weeks old) this weekend and I was curious if any of you could give me some insight as to what our family should expect and possibly some tips to make the transition as easy for my female as possible. She is very sensitive to change and we normally have to give her an adjustment period, even for something as silly as moving her crate a few feet out of it's normal position. However, she is well socialized and plays very well with other animals. She gets regular play dates with other dogs and follows directions acceptionally well from us while playing. Play dates take place both at our house and at other homes. I would love to have any tips any of you could offer for this transitional period. Does anyone have suggestions? Should I place the new pups crate near my females or should I keep it in another room? She is never in it for more than a couple hours at a time, but it is her safe haven and I don't want her to feel as though her space is being invaded. Should they eat in the same area? When we bring the new pup home, should we first introduce it to her outdoors? The new pups jobs will be similar to hers, so she will need to get used to him being with her often. It is also important for me to note that our female has lived with another dog before. For about the first full year of her life, we had an older Golden Retreiver female that she loved and adored. This dog has sadly passed on, but when she was still with us, our border collie got along very well with her and we never had any issues. I think she has become lonely and wo