BC Boards

Clicker Training

I am New to the training thing, any dog I have had in my life has been a rescue, they came pre trained! just needed fine tuning.

now that I have a bundle of energy called shelby to train I am looking into the Methods of training. and I am WONDERING... what is a clicker how does it work and where can I find one. now I know that i could go to so pet store and ask them! but i love reading the post on here!

I have come to LOVE the BC breed. they are just SO SMART and eager to learn, my shelby is only 11 weeks old and she already comes when i call her, and sits. i haven't done much else with her yet, but I want to.

but that Is my question.

and I'll be sure to post a picture of my Shelbs when I find the battery for the Camera :rolleyes:

Clicker training is just a sound to mark a behavior.

The dog does something, and WHILE they are DOING the behavior you click the clicker. Then you give a treat (rather then interrupting the behavior to give the treat). You can do the same thing with a word, like "YES!" - but the actual clicker tends to be easier to use. So if I told a dog to sit, as soon as their but hit the floor I would click the clicker and then give a treat. Or a better example, in agility, if I told her to jump - WHILE she is in the air I would click, then when she was done jumping I give her the treat but she knows that the treat is because she jumped.

Clicker training is very helpful for shaping behaviors (example: to teach the dog to "wave" first just click when the dog's paw comes off the ground a little, after doing that a few times, only click and treat if the dog raises their paw higher, then little by little ask for more and more from the dog until you have a nice high "wave"). I taught my Dazzle to "clean up" her toys by shaping the behavior.

You can get a clicker at just about any dog store.