BC Boards

Teaching new BC to walk nicely on leash

Greetings! I recently adopted a 5 month old BC. I also have a 11 year old BC. The new puppy has plenty to learn as far as going for a walk. He pulls this way and that and pulls ahead. He is interested in everything that moves! You have BCs so you know what I mean!

This is my third BC so I am not new to the breed. But I am still learning and always will be. I have been re-reading material on teaching him to walk on a 'loose leash'. We have a long way to go!

My question is, what is the best way to get started training him to walk nicely, considering I have another older BC? Should I take the new dog and my other BC on separate walks for now while I am training him?

I read that any time he pulls ahead I need to stop, get him settled, even turn the other direction, but the idea across that we aren't going anywhere if he pulls ahead. But we are not going to get very far on walks for quite a while at this rate! My other BC walks very nicely on leash. I'm sure I went through this with her but I need a refresher course!

Thanks for your help on dealing with a new, young dog on walks with an existing older dog.

Thanks in advance!

I'd suggest that you walk them separately. I have multiple dogs and when you are training certain things, one-on-one with minimal distractions is definitely a plus.

You may not get much "mileage" when you practice stopping or changing direction, but you will be training - and, at this point, that is essential. Plus, she's moving all the time (unless she's sniffing) so she is getting some distance in steps even if not as the crow flies.

For you to be random (stops, turns, reverses, moving off at different angles) will help teach her to pay attention to you and not simply her own agenda. Treats can be another good way to help encourage her to be attentive to you and reward good behavior.