BC Boards

Traveling with Sheep

desertdawg

I will soon be moving from Arizona to Oregon and am seriously considering taking 9 sheep with me.....mainly because I just like this group of sheep I currently have (they are dog broke, and great for training pups and you dogs, and I have bred "down" in size, so they are small). What do I need to do to get them through ag inspection? And since it is a two day drive, will they be ok with me stopping once in awhile for feed and water? I have never done anything like this before. Thanks in advance.

http://www.aphis.usda.gov/import_export/animals/animal_import/animal_imports_states.shtml

Here is a link to the USDA site which gives you links to individual states websites, I would check the states you will be traveling through as far as their policies on off loading (though I would just bed heavy and leave them on the trailer if possible) and your destination state for what it's import regulations are. If it is cool during transport I doubt they will drink much during transport, if we were to do it we would toss hay in twice a day and offer a water bucket at the end of the first day, then again the next morning. I would let how they drink dictate how often to water them on the rest of the trip. I would also take water from home vs. using water along the way.

Good luck with the move!!

Deb

For interstate movement of your sheep, it is mandatory for them to have ear tags issued through the USDA Scrapie Eradication Program. You may have already have done this, but if not, here is the link to obtain the approved ear tags for your sheep. USDA Scrapie Tags

Deb has given you some good advice for the transport of your sheep. Good luck in your move!

Regards,

nancy