BC Boards

Introducing a New Dog

Hi

Everyone was so helpful and gracious to me a few years ago when I got a rescue BC and had some issues, and I was wondering if I could get a few lines of advice on my new situation. After getting my first BC (I am a retired dog trainer with 25 yrs. experience in GSDs) I was so in love with the breed that I decided that my next one should be a "split face"...and then I thought maybe I'd like a red one....and finally decided that a red split face would be perfect. Looked around...didn't want to buy (been there done that)...and thought a male puppy would be best.

I have a 9 yrs. old neutered male mix and a 4 yr. old spayed BC. My girlfriend called me a couple weeks ago and told me the dog of my dreams was on a local humane society website and there he was...a red and white split faced male (they said he was 2 and he could be...or he could be 3 or 4). Long story short...brought him home and isolated him a few days since the shelter situation wasn't the best and he had been neutered 4 days before and was having problems with the incision and swelling. Wanted to get him out of there and in a cleaner environment, so bought him home and had him vet checked.

He was quiet for a few days (probably neutering + trauma + he had been a stray running with two 6 mo. aussie mix girls and I think he missed them.) He has now been incorporated into the mainstream part of our home. I have him in an ex-pen right in the middle of the house where the dogs could meet him and get used to him and vice-versa. He goes out on leash and there is a play yard to be loose. However, I have not yet let all the dogs meet nose-to-nose.