BC Boards

Can food treats be bad?

I'm a newbie. I don't even get my dog until September, although I have been preparing for getting a border collie for years!! After talking with dozens of dog owners and trainers, one topic always seems to be a hot argument point: whether to reward your dog with treats or not.

Some people claim that food rewards can upset the balance between your dog loving you as a their owner, or just as their food provider. Instead, these people reward their dogs with a toy, a few good words or a scratch behind the ears. These specific people never had border collies, only German Shepherds, and most people disagreed with their opinions.

Growing up we had a border collie beagle mix who wouldn't go near a toy unless it was a live, breathing rabbit or something similar. She laughed at tennis balls. Although a few nice belly rubs and some kind words were always appreciated, Sybil was fascinated with food and wouldn't do any tricks without it.

And that's what makes me wonder. If we never had given her biscuits or human food as a reward, perhaps she would not have been so food obsessed? Then again, she was a beagle mix, and beagles love their food!

I guess what I'm asking is whether you feed your dog treats or not. It seems that most bc owners do and have great results. However, I can see the point of the other argument.

Speedy will be 10 in August and I've been training him with food since he was 7 months old. We have a fantastic bond, he responds just fine when I'm not specifically using food (as long as I have done my part and taught him what is expected), and he certainly does not just regard me as a food provider.

One thing that is necessary, if you are going to train a dog to fluency, is to fade the food when the dog is ready. If you don't do that, yes, the dog may always need a treat to carry out that behavior. If you fade the food, you don't end up with that problem.