BC Boards

coming off contact

bc soul sista

Alright...question..

When I'm working my dog on driving...he sometimes looks at me...occasionaly he will come off his stock completely and come towards me....he is a trained dog and trialed before succesfuly..so I don't think his previous owners were having this issue...I know I'm a novice and might not be making things clear to him..putting to much pressure on him or rattling off to many commands...

It's freaking me out that he is coming off his stock though...big no no..I try to encourage him back on...sometimes it works immedietly...sometimes it doesn't..

ADVICE PLEASE!!!!!

We've had similar problems -- my impression (also speaking as a novice) is that it's not uncommon. I have a tendency to keep giving my dog commands ('walk up! walk up!') rather than corrections or encouragement, and that can make him reliant on me and hence prone to looking back at me and occasionally coming off the stock.

So if you are giving too many commands, that could be it.

You could try correcting him the moment he starts to even think about coming off the stock, then walking towards him and the sheep to encourage him to move back on to the stock.

It seems like when I would correct him..it would make it worse...he also didn't seem to like me being closer to him..we were trying some parallel driving and it's almost like he thinks he is doing something wrong if I am putting that extra pressure on him?? Instead of seeing it as support?? Not sure if I am reading that right at all...

Couple things to consider...

It's going to take some time before this dog works for you like it worked for its previous owner. Some people will tell you it takes a year to get with a dog to where you become a team.