BC Boards

Welsh basic commands

Andlcs

I think you'd need to find and talk to someone who speaks Welsh commands, or who can make you an audio tape of Welsh commands. Welsh doesn't strike me as a language one can learn properly, without hearing how it's pronounced. Their spelling of vowel sounds and consonants is ... unique. ;) I was in Wales for 3 days on a recent holiday, and had occasion to hear Aled Owen speak Welsh to one of his dogs. Believe me, I had NO idea what those words were, let alone how to spell or repeat them. ;)

Best of luck.

~ Gloria

Can´t help you (unless you are also interested in the icelandic herding commands), but I am kind of intrigued why someone in Brazil would want to use welsh commands. Did you import a dog from Wales who doesn´t understand you...?

I come from Wales but, unfortuately, I am new to training border collies to sheep & only know English commands. I couldn't say whether a literal translation from the English would be the words used in Welsh. Do you know of any videos of Aled Owen where he uses Welsh commands then I might be able to write them down for you.

I suspect any videos of Aled, he'll just be using English, since he'd be speaking for an audience of students. When I was there, he just barked a couple words of correction, I think, but otherwise he only "spoke" to his dogs in whistles. :)

But if someone had a home video, informally filmed, of him working one of his dogs ... Not sure something like that would be easily found, though.

~ Gloria

Hello thank you guys for your replies.

I come from Wales but, unfortuately, I am new to training border collies to sheep & only know English commands. I couldn't say whether a literal translation from the English would be the words used in Welsh. Do you know of any videos of Aled Owen where he uses Welsh commands then I might be able to write them down for you.

here's a video of aled owen using his look back command in welsh (near 3min and 50 sec):