BC Boards

What Would You Think?

Hi there. I'm new to the group, and this is my first time posting on here. Just had a quick question for all of you. Here is the scenario: You breed your dog and the stud fee is a puppy back to the stud's owner. You hand the puppy over to the stud's owner, and all seems fine and dandy. The dog is now 3 years old and everytime you contact the owner to find out how it is doing, you only hear "Oh, he's doing good." You then ask for pictures and you get, "I don't have any recent pics of him on my computer." This goes on for months. Hearing this, what is your first thought?

Hard to say, but I guess I would be worried that something had happened to the dog if they wouldn't go into details about how he was doing. My camera has been dead for almost a year and I haven't replaced it yet. I suppose that because I haven't updated photos in so long some people might wonder what is going on. Why don't you just ask if they still have the dog?

Hi there. I'm new to the group, and this is my first time posting on here. Just had a quick question for all of you. Here is the scenario: You breed your dog and the stud fee is a puppy back to the stud's owner. You hand the puppy over to the stud's owner, and all seems fine and dandy. The dog is now 3 years old and everytime you contact the owner to find out how it is doing, you only hear "Oh, he's doing good." You then ask for pictures and you get, "I don't have any recent pics of him on my computer." This goes on for months. Hearing this, what is your first thought?

I might assume they sold the puppy unless that wasnt in your agreement. I would ask straight up.

Ok, what does it matter though? The pup was theirs to do as they please right? W/O a contract (or even with one) if this is strictly a stud fee pup to someone that is not a personal friend why do they have to tell or show you anything about the pup? Granted you may not like it but that's the deal you agreed to when using their dog.