BC Boards

Question about flea and tick control

Hi, this is my first time posting. I adopted a 6 year old border collie from a border collie rescue place about 2 months ago. We named her Zoe and she's perfect! However, we live in Northern Florida on an Island with a small backyard that's not fenced in. We take Zoe for a mile walk every morning and evening; she loves the beach. I have tried Interceptor and Comfortis recommended by my vet, but she failed to tell me the Comfortis didn't protect from ticks. I began seeing ticks on her because she loves to jump in the tall grass and do her business. So, the vet put her on Frontline, but said I couldn't bath her. I've been reading about Revolution and wondered if any one has any advice about it's use. When we come back from the beach she is wet and sandy and I need to rinse her to get the salt water and sand off. I would appreciate any help because I want the best for her.

Welcome! And kudos for rescuing Zoe!

One issue that is being seen more and more is resistance to certain flea controls. We used to find it easy to control both with Advantix or Frontline Plus, but no more.

On our recent trip down to the beach, where ticks were still active, we used the Preventix collars but I have to say that I'm not sure that even they were effective for us - we found live, engorged ticks (as well as dead ones) on two dogs four days after we left the areas where they might have picked up ticks. I think that ticks may be developing resistance to these collars as they seem to have been very effective in the past, and I wouldn't call our experience this year as very effective. We do use Comfortis very successfully for flea control which, where we live, is our only issue.