BC Boards

Ranch Mentalitiy

So my husband was talking to my father in law today about another ranchers female who is an excellent cowdog and how if Nitro turns out to be an excellent worker as well we might breed him. Now I don't know much about breeding and all as I am just learning everything and really don't have any plans on breeding at the moment, but we were informed that this other rancher wants to cross his female with her father... :unsure: He wants to keep the good working line going... :unsure: Now like I said I dont know much but Im sure crossing a father daughter might not be the best of options... Anyone have any comments on this?

I'm not sure I'd call this a "ranch mentality" but rather one rancher's mentality - which might be a common one or not.

And I'll let someone else who's knowledgeable about line-breeding, in-breeding, and other breeding strategies to give some good feedback.

Line breeding/inbreeding does have its place with respect to fixing certain traits in a line. I know a few breeders of working border collies who use line breeding (and one for sure I would get dogs from). The key, of course, is to not be kennel blind, to outcross to maintain some genetic diversity, and to be willing to cull heavily as needed, because when you linebreed/inbreed you're concentrating the bad genes as well as the good ones, and some combinations are going to be just plain awful and need to be removed from the breeding gene pool.

One advantage to linebreeding that was given to me is that you are more likely to get consistent results in your offspring. That is, what sort of working dog you get will be more predictable than when you create pups through an outcross.

But linebreeding/inbreeding is best practiced by knowledgeable, experienced dog people, and not by everyone, IMO.