BC Boards

Favorite Puppy Training Info Sources?

Well, I don't know exactly when I will get a puppy, but I figure now's the time to start getting prepared, in any case. Although I am not by any means without any resources or information, I am eager to have all the sources I can have. If any of you have favorite books, articles, websites, or other sources of good information on puppy training, I would be grateful if you shared them with me.

I am a positive-reinforcement trainer and work with a clicker. My goal is to find out what I and a puppy can build together over time if the puppy is trained with the clicker from day one. I think it will be great fun.

--D'Elle

Well, I don't know exactly when I will get a puppy, but I figure now's the time to start getting prepared, in any case. Although I am not by any means without any resources or information, I am eager to have all the sources I can have. If any of you have favorite books, articles, websites, or other sources of good information on puppy training, I would be grateful if you shared them with me.

I am a positive-reinforcement trainer and work with a clicker. My goal is to find out what I and a puppy can build together over time if the puppy is trained with the clicker from day one. I think it will be great fun.

--D'Elle

I have not read this book myself, but because I've enjoyed all her other books, I'd suggest you look into the Puppy Primer by Patricia McConnell. I love her humor and insights.

I've read other books that are popular (like Ian Dunbar's books) and found quite a bit that was useful but was a bit put off by the subtext in some of his books "if you mess up on this step even once, it's a disaster, you may have just ruined your puppy for life".

--D'Elle

I like Pat Miller's Positive Perspectives. It's all positive and covers puppy training, housebreaking, behavior problems, etc...

JoAnna