BC Boards

Arthritis

Ancient_Dog

Our 14.5 year old Casper has arthritis in his hind legs (knees we think). He is on Rimadyl and Cosequin which helps some days more than others. Our vet has talked about Adequan injections or Cold Laser Therapy. I was hoping someone here might have experience with either of these or might have another alternative for the pain. Otherwise, he is in pretty good shape, his blood work is excellent for his age and most days he gets a morning and evening walks totaling about 1.5 to 2 miles depending on how he feels.

I have been using Adequan with Speedy for his arthritis for several years and it has helped him a lot. I do also give him a low dose of Tramadol daily, as well.

I'm not sure what kind of laser therapy his chiropractor uses, but she does treat him with a laser and that also helps him greatly. I only take him for the laser/chiropractic 4 - 6 times a year, but it still makes a big difference.

I had a horse on Adequan for a while, it was effective but very expensive. I switched to injectible PS-GAGs (poly-sulphated glucosaminoglycans) that I purchased from a compounding pharmacy for a fraction of the cost with a vet's prescription, and it saved me a bundle. It is basically a compounded version of the branded product. The difference in expense may not be quite as significant with canine doses, but then again, it may.

The difference in expense may not be quite as significant with canine doses, but then again, it may.

The loading dose was expensive since I had to do two injections a week for four weeks. But giving one injection a month isn't bad. I pay about $100.00 for a year's supply. That is less than what I pay for Tramadol and the other supplements and stuff that he gets. It's a lot up front, but then I don't have to buy it again for a year.