BC Boards

My New Pup

Hello! I am new to BC Boards and I'd like to introduce myself and my pup! My name is Britni and I am going into my junior year of college majoring in Middle Childhood Education. I am totally in love with border collies and am trying to decide if my dog has some BC in him. I just rescued him from the local dog pound on June 14th and he is the best dog I have ever had in my life. I cannot believe I got lucky enough to rescue such a well behaved and obedient dog.

When I rescued my pup that I named "Raz," he was said to be approximately 1 year old and he is house broken and knows how to sit, lie down, shake both paws, and we're working on roll over. He is just my pride and joy and I couldn't have made a better decision by rescuing him. I am having trouble deciding what type of dog he is though. At first I thought he might have been a German Shepard and Brittany Spaniel cross, but then I studied all of the aspects that looked like a Shepard and decided that I should eliminate that cross. Then I thought of a Brittany Spaniel and Australian Cattle Dog and it seemed like that is what he probably was, but I still have suspicions that he has some Border Collie in him. He is very agile, has lots of energy, and is extremely intelligent.

I was hoping you all could help me with some suggestions of what you personally think he could be crossed with. The only reason why it is such a concern to me is because I can study more about his roots to know everything I can about his personality traits.

I love border collies and cannot wait to own my own someday. I may already have one if that is what my pup might be mixed with, but here is a picture of him and any kind of feedback would be great! Thanks!

Britni

DSC00108.jpg

DSC00116.jpg

DSC00209.jpg

To me, I don't see anything but border collie in him. It's impossible to say for sure with photos, but he could be purebred. Gorgeous, too! How about a standing profile pic?