BC Boards

Question about Spinosad (Comfortis)

Little Bo Boop

The active ingredient in Comfortis is Spinosad, which is basically a fermented bacterium (interesting read, discovered in the soil of an abandoned rum distillery in the Caribbean) Anyway, Spinosad is available in most lawn and garden stores, and fairly cheap, as opposed to Comfortis, at $100 for 6 tablets. I did a little research, and found where they use a mixture of spinosad and hair condtioner as a topical treatment for people with lice (very effective evidently) So my question is, think you could use it as a topical on your dog to rid them of fleas? Any thoughts?

Betty

I have been using Comfortis for about six months. For the first four of those months I would have told you it was the best flea control ever. Last month both dogs threw up their pills. Hmmm. Maybe I didn't make sure they ate enough

before giving the flea pill. Maybe they shouldn't have the heartworm and flea pills so close together... So fast forward to this month. I gave the heartworm pill to both dogs on 7/31, the last day of the month as usual. No ill effects. I gave the Comfortis yesterday, 8/3, after dinner. Jodi (15 month old BC) is fine. Bella, our 3 year old golden retriever has been throwing up everything she tries to eat today. She is keeping down water and she has been going out to pee like usual. She had a bowel movement on her morning walk but breakfast, snack and dinner all came back up.

If she's not better tomorrow I'll take her to the vet. I can tell you one thing ... We are switching back to the external flea control. I'm sure her problem is from that pill.