BC Boards

Border Collies vs. Aussies

I have always wanted to ask this of Border Collie people: Border Collies vs Aussies?

I am wondering about the differences you see in working (not herding!) and general beahvior.

I am a pet dog trainer and see so many aussies in my classes but very few BCs. I also see a lot of Aussies in the Obedience ring and few BCs (this could be due to the fact that BCs are not a CKC breed)

Many of the aussies in my classes seem to have anxiety issues - especially the merels - and impulse control issues. You can almost guaruntee a blue merel is going to have anixety issues!

What is the appeal? Is it all about coat colour? They seem to be very popular. Yet when i started searching for a working dog BCs were #1 and aussies didnt even make the list.

What I have been told by Aussie people is that the working bred Aussie has all but been lost. I have a friend who used to rescue Aussies but has pretty much gotten out of it. One reason is because she was coming across too many dogs that were nuts and seeing a lot more aggression. That's just one person's opinion, though. I know several people with Aussies and they are mostly very nice dogs. I do agree that the impulse control problem seems to be an issue with a lot of these dogs, just as I think it is an issue with a lot of poorly-bred border collies.

ETA: I'm not sure what the appeal is, since I'm not an Aussie person. But, I will say that I once had a red merle Aussie in rescue and he was a fantastic dog. I would have kept him, if I had been in the market for another dog.

:rolleyes:-->

QUOTE(Tara B @ Mar 24 2010, 03:12 PM) 347058[/snapback]
Many of the aussies in my classes seem to have anxiety issues - especially the merels - and impulse control issues. You can almost guaruntee a blue merel is going to have anixety issues!

I have a blue merle aussie at home, exactly as you describe. She's my Gfs dog, and my BCs and I just sit and watch her bouce around the house non stop