BC Boards

Agility Table Issues

Okay, I apologize in advance for the length of this post.

I've been working with a friend of mine in agility for about 3 years now and I am at the end of my rope with her table problems and don't know what else to do to help her. I hope someone here has some advice.

First, the dog. Allie is a 4 year old 3/4 border collie 1/4 aussie known cross. She was purchased from a backyard breeder with her sister Abby. They began showing some serious aggression issues at about 6-9 months of age. She was enrolled in an obedience class at the facility where I taught agility but was kicked out due to the severe dog and person aggression. I allowed her to come to beginning agility if the dog wore a muzzle. She wore the muzzle for about a year and we gradually got it off her. Her sister is still extremely aggressive and is retired from agility but Allie is still going. Her aggression was based on fear and the more confidence we gave her the better she got. I can run her now while her owner watches which is something we never ever thought would happen.

When she started competing she was very scared and stressed about everything, from the campground and camper to the ring, to her show crate, the judge, other dogs, etc, etc. A lot of positive reinforcement later she is running in P2 in USDAA and is really enjoying herself. She still stresses a little if something really out of the ordinary happens but 95% of the time she is fine.