BC Boards

Herding sheep with an ACD/BC mix?

Jess1025

Well, I'm new to herding. I have my older BC that I also plan on trying out but I adopted one of the ACD/BC mixes from Sea4th and was wondering if anyone had any opinions on putting him on sheep. I just bought 2 Babydoll Southdowns to start a flock but I'm sure we'll need a bigger flock to work with so if anyone knows of any trainers in the NW PA or NE OH area, that'd be great too. And any advice for a beginner would be helpful. I have experience training, just not in herding....

"scuse me, but shouldn't we see some pictures first, before we can reply to your question? :rolleyes:

Anyway, I'm not sure about anyone out in our area -- maybe we can get some feedback here, but 50 miles SW of Cleveland, in Lorain co., there is an all-breed herding place. She's been giving lessons for years and it might be worth a trip a couple of times a month to take a lesson, then come back and practice on your own sheep.

Hopefully, within the next 6 or 7 months, I'll have my own sheep, at which time you'd be welcome to come out and work your dogs at my place.

Not to nag, but PICTURES PLEASE!!!!!!

I'll have to look into that...

The most recent pictures are up in the gallery!!! I'll try and get some more soon but my camera is not the greatest, I'm very disappointed with it and I rarely get any pictures I am happy with... I'm going to take him in with the sheep today, on leash, maybe I can get some decent photos and I'll post them...