BC Boards

why is my dog not as good as 3 months ago ?

Topic Title. Is it my dog cannot be bothered ?

I am no expert and new to this sheepdog training. I love dogs especially sheepdogs. We have had a dog for 35 years. And collies for half that time. I have a 4 year old bitch who we are training on sheep. We have a professional trainer and attend two days a week, each day is up to 3 20minute sessions depending on how well she is doing. We have been training for 8 months and she seemed to be advancing very well. My main aim is to do some trialling. I don’t think would ever do that well but just to get round the trial with my dog would be great. Before Christmas she was doing well. She held the sheep to me,(I was the fence) she new her sides. Her out runs would over cover but she managed to bring the sheep to me. Now however each lesson seems a step backwards. The sheep are really dogged and very stubborn. My problem is she seems to have a lot of eye and not much power. She will go round the sheep lay down and will not get up on command to lift them to me. The sheep keep apart just eating the grass as if she wasn’t there! (she used to bring them to me!) She also will not hold the sheep to me any more . Her driving however is great with little flanks we can hold a pretty much jaw dropping straight line. Its as if she really cant be bothered. However I can call her off at any time even when she’s laying down behind the sheep and she will come immediately so she hasn’t got her full focus on the sheep she is still listening to me. Then, last week the trainer suggested to pen all the sheep, but one, and tried to drive the one away from the pen. This was really hard work . That one sheep really wanted to join the others. but something clicked in my dogs brain. She was really on her game. Little flanks, holding the sheep to me , loads of power and above all she very quickly realised that I just wanted that one sheep in the middle of the field and wasn’t distracted by the 7