BC Boards

Pros and cons of having dog "started"

CJ_&_Mitch

I am a novice handler training a novice dog. Have been getting some suggestions to send him off for 4-to-6 weeks of training, then I get trained to work him after he's trained. Would be very interested in hearing how others feel about this practice. Looking for good reasons pro and con...

A pro is that, with a good trainer, this can be a nice way to get a good start on a young dog. It may sound pricey but, compared to travelling to lessons and taking much longer time to accomplish the training when the lessons are spaced apart, it may be a much cheaper alternative in the long run.

It may very well also give your dog a much more solid start or foundation than lessons, especially if you are working the dog in between at home and (like us all) making mistakes that you will have to undo.

One con is that you, as a novice, also need to be getting training along with your dog, and so need to make provision for that.

Pros: the dog gets a good start, which means that you will avoid some/most of the newbie training mistakes that you could regret later.

Cons: As Sue said, you will still need training, so getting the dog started is not a substitute for your training. A second con is that you might not know enough to find a good trainer, suitable for your dog.

If you know of a trainer whose training style and philosophy suits yours, it can be a great way to get a jump start on your dog's training, which will benefit you both in the long run. But I would caution that as a newbie, you will need to be careful who you choose to train your dog--research is very important to insure that you choose a trainer who is going to improve your dog, not make things worse with strange training methods, etc.

J.