BC Boards

New puppy - so many questions

I just recently (4 weeks ago) adopted a 3 month old BC from a shelter, so Orbit is now 4 months old. He is a wonderful little guy most of the time. I have an older BC cross (that i rescued when she was 2 years old) that is quite possibly the best dog ever and so i have some experience with dogs but not with puppies. I was hopig to get some input because i have a phobia of doing things wrong now and messing my dog up later. Here are my issues so far:

Coming when called. There are times when he bounds over like it is the best thing ever and then other times he appears to not even hear me (as in, he doesn't even flinch) or he looks at me and decides not to listen. If this is normal puppy stuff - great! I don't put him into dangerous situations so for now it is not a safety thing but i am wondering how much non-listening is normal. Also, besides the treat and praise thing (which we do), anything else i can do?

Rough play with other dogs. He plays really well with bigger dogs and is respectful when they tell him off. It's the little dogs that are the problem. He really likes to chase, pounce and occasionally use his teeth. I have found that terriers are a good match for him and seem to enjoy his style of play, but anything that tries to run (usually chihuaha-types) is promptly underneath Orbit. Again- normal puppy behaviour or something that will manifest into bigger problems later? Just yesterday i did have a minor breakthough - there was a small dog at the beach and after an initial pounce (just to clarify - he is not trying to hurt the other dog, he just doesn't differentiate between rottie playmate and chihuaha), i told him to leave it and he did. Maybe he got it or maybe there were more interesting things going on.