BC Boards

Jade went to the vet yesterday

JaderBug

Jade has had a pretty bad bout of on-again/off-again diarrhea for the last two weeks, mostly because she's gotten into some things that she shouldn't have (she ate part of a Frisbee and part of a Coke-bottle wrapper due to bad supervision by the boyfriend :rolleyes: ). Everything has come out on one side or the other, but has been accompanied by the runs.

The vet said that apparently her microflora has been messed up, and that the bad bugs have taken over the good bugs. She's been put on some antibiotics and I/D dog food, but I think I am going to be looking for some new dry dog food for her. Right now she is on Iams Smart Puppy, and I've been thinking of switching her to something like Science Diet or Nutro or something like that. I want something that's good for her, but I'm also a college student on a budget, so I can't afford the super expensive stuff.

Any suggestions??

That whole messed up flora thing happens from time to time. Meds will clear it right up, Alex had a bout of this just a few weeks ago. Jade doesn't even really need a special food like I/D, but what's done is done. I hate to sound judgmental, but I would run away from Science Diet! I know a lot of folks feed Nutro, but I'm not sure there aren't better choices for the money out there. Canidae is a good food at a reasonable price. I think Natural Balance might be one of the more affordable ones, too. One thing to keep in mind, you will feed less of a higher quality food, so don't let the higher prices freak you out too much.

Check out this website for some good dog food info:

http://www.dogfoodproject.com/

I hate to sound judgmental, but I would run away from Science Diet!

Why is that? What have you heard about Science Diet (or Nutro for that matter)?

Any opinions on Eukanuba?